Just one more Hunt….by Mary Murray

DSC_0873

A poem dedicated to a dog who lived for the hunt….Chester now aged 14 years and pictured today on most likely his final day out hunting.xxx

 

Just one more Hunt,

That’s all I seek,

Before these aging legs grow weak.

 

One more time to raise my clouding eye

As the whosh of wingbeats fill the sky.

My body is old but my heart has the will

to track that blood trail up the hill.

 

And through the cover where I know

Those clever pheasants always go.

I’ll try my best to bag a Duck

From the tailings pond with all that muck.

 

My gait may be unsteady

And my strength is fast draining

but I will Hunt to the end

With each breath remaining.

 

The last Hunt is over

I was up to the task and I thank you, my Master ,

‘cos all that I ask…

Is to follow my calling where the high pheasants fall and to Hunt with my heart

And give it my all…..

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Just one more Hunt….by Mary Murray

  1. Came across your website purely by chance, read your poem and it made me fell so sad, and reflective. I know what its like to “retire” a dog and I’m sure the dogs know as well. I hope Chester has a long and contented retirement and can continue to bring you happiness for many more years.

Leave a comment