Venison cooked in Coca-Cola

The last time I cooked venison I followed a recipe to the letter and was really disappointed with the outcome. The recipe was for a venison chocolate chilli which called for the meat to be marinated in a red wine and spice marinade overnight. The end result left the meat dry and with a strange after taste which left me reluctant to try to cook venison again.

Then my friend Malcolm, the same one who presented me with the oven ready teal a few weeks ago, gave me a joint of venison before Christmas and suggested I try cooking it in Coca-Cola! I have cooked ham in Cola before so the idea of cooking venison in this way appealed to me…the results were very pleasing.

I decided to try this dish as a special treat on New year’s eve, my long suffering hubbie was to be chief critic again… so here it is :

Place the venison and Coca-cola, ( the real stuff now no cheap Aldi substitute… ) ,along with an onion and three cloves of garlic in a large pot and bring up to the boil on top of the stove. Then, turn down the heat and cook for about 40 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven at 180 degrees. Remove the venison from the top of the stove and allow to rest for 20 minutes. Generously cover with olive oil and garlic paste, and season with some salt, pepper and rosemary.

Oven cook for a futher 40 minutes.

Serve on a bed of cheese and garlic mash and mixed winter vegtables.

Wine of choice for this one was a St. Emillion, decanted and allowed to breathe at room temperature an hour before serving.

The verdict…I will definitely be cooking venison this way again. Apologies for no photographic evidence on this occassion it was just tooo good to share ….

 

4 thoughts on “Venison cooked in Coca-Cola

  1. Sounds interesting. The best way I’ve found to cook venison is in a crockpot with cream of mushroom, Liption onion dry soup mix, and water. It always turns out tender and delicious, but I’ll have to give this a try!

Leave a Reply

